Meet the Committee

Meet the Committee

Mr Wilkinson
Management Committee - Community Member
Stephen Wilkinson, Chief Executive of The Queen Katherine School Multi Academy Trust in Kendal. He has been a member of the Management Committee for 15 years formally representing the South Lakes Federation of Schools. He was also a member of the Kendal Collaborative Partnership a Limited Company set up by two secondary schools in Kendal and 13 feeder primary schools. Stephen has a particular interest in inclusion. Sandgate School is co-located on the campus of The Queen Katherine School which also has a reputation for its multi-agency support. Stephen is also involved in the development of System Leadership and is a member of the Cumbria Alliance of System Leaders (CASL) and our more local South Local Alliance of System Leaders (LASL). He is currently Chair of the Emotional Resilience and Mental Health Partnership for Cumbria.
Ms Assouad
Management Committee - LA Member. Link member for Children Looked After (CLA)

Ms Assoud is a qualified teacher with 20 years experience in Secondary education, has worked within Social Services, as a Children & Families Borough Councillor, and a  trained therapist.  Ms Assoud has various qualifications and joins the committee as a Community Member.

Mrs Bailey
Management Committee (Chair) - Community Member
Mrs Willis
Management Committee - LA Member. Link member for Special Educational Needs and Disability (SEND)

Janet is a LA appointee, has been a member of CCC Corporate Parenting Board, and used to undertake Regulation 33 visits at a Children’s Home.

Miss Evans
Management Committee - Clerk
Miss Evans has worked at the PRU in a range of administration positions since 1998. Since 2006 she has been the PRU’s School Business Manager and has responsibility for Health and Safety, and Facilities and Finance, whilst also managing the very efficient Business Support team.
Miss Balderstone
Management Committee - Ex-officio member
Mrs Balderstone started her headship with the PRU in September 2013. Previously Mrs Balderstone worked in a Barrow secondary school for 13 years before becoming Head of the West Cumbria PRU in 2009. Mrs Balderstone has been a member of the Management Committee since September 2013.
Mr Doyle
Management Committee - Staff Representative
Mr Doyle joined the Pupil Referral Service in September 2013. Mr Doyle has previous experience at a local secondary school working with young people with social, emotional and behavioural difficulties. He delivers ICT and PE within the centre.
Mr Ribchester
Management Committee - Staff Representative
Having previous teaching experience in a number of mainstream schools, teaching subjects across the curriculum, Mr Ribchester has joined the staff with responsibility for teaching English from September 2014.
Mr Stanway
Management Committee - Staff Representative
Having previous teaching experience in local mainstream secondary education, the Sixth Form College and college of Further Education Paul has joined the staff with specific responsibility for Physical Education and Maths. Mr Stanway has been an 'associate' member of the Management Committee since December 2013.
Mrs Stanway
Management Committee - Community Member. Link member for Safeguarding and Child Protection

Mrs Stanway is an Assistant Headteacher of a local Academy and is actively involved in the well being and safety of students that attend the school, and has local knowledge of current issues.

Mrs Carter
Management Committee - Community Member. Link member for Careers and Post 16

Student Services Manager at Furness College since 2015 and qualified as Careers Leader in 2018.   Previously worked for 26 years as a Careers Adviser and Area Manager for Inspira (formerly Connexions, Careers Service).  Skills and experience within all of these roles lends itself to being an effective Management Committee member.  Mrs Carter has supported PRS students whilst working in all of her roles, and is passionate about young people receiving the best teaching and support available to overcome their personal circumstances, and subsequently achieve success in their lives.  "I am always impressed by the level of commitment all PRS staff display, and if I can help in any way to support the Head Teacher and her team I am delighted to do so.  I am a strong believer in partnership working and I sit on a number of internal and external groups.  This membership allows me to consider overall strategies and whether there are any opportunities to support the PRS".


Mrs Jacobs
Management Committee - Community Member. Link member for Mental Health

Mrs Jacobs has 20 years post qualification experience in one-to-one counselling of children and young people, 19 years of which she has worked in secondary education. Mrs Jacobs has experience of working on the board of a local charity as company secretary for nearly 11 years. Motivated by learning in general but especially from young people themselves, Mrs Jacobs has met inspirational young people and feels always struck by the need to understand their world.  "All children need to be heard and it has been my privilege to listen and support them on their journey".  Becoming a Management Committee member will allow Mrs Jacobs to experience supporting young people and the PRU team in a different way.

Ms Wilkinson
Management Committee - Community Member. Link member for Curriculum

Alison Wilkinson was Deputy Headteacher and then Head of School at Queen Elizabeth School in Kirkby Lonsdale. She bid successfully to the DfE to open a free school, QEStudio School in 2017 which is based on a place-based curriculum designed around community well being and which places high value on technical and professional learning. She was the research lead for the QES teaching school and is still involved in academic educational research, having led on several projects with local universities. She is Chair of the South Lakes Federation and involved in Cumbrian system leadership. She retires as Principal of QEStudio School in August 2021 and will take up a post as Strategic Lead for the South Lakes Federation in September whilst continuing to lead the Cumbrian working party for the Eden Project North and the Morecambe Bay Curriculum.

Mr Knight
Management Committee - Community Member. Link member for Health, Safety and Welfare

Mr Knight is a Senior Project Manager in a local Tier 1 Construction business, and is currently working alongside a colleague to offer schools a new venture they have developed.  Mr Knight has an understanding of the school and processes and joins the committee as a Community Member.